Distinguished Alumni Awards

Our alumni are key to the success of our department. As graduates of our program, they reflect the professionalism and technical acumen we hope to engender in each of our students. They are our ambassadors to a wider world of industry and academia, and we are proud to have such representation in their professional accomplishments and character.

The department recognizes distinguished alumni who have made major contributions to the field and the department. We are grateful for their role as ambassadors whose accomplishments reflect well on the department and the University of Utah.

Michael Stubblefield2023President and CEO, AvantorBS ’94, MBA ‘99-Texas A&M
Blake Goff
2022Vice President, Seattle GeneticsBS '88, PhD '93-Princeton
Kurt Nielson2019Chief Engineer, ExxonMobilBS '79
Mike Homma2018President, Gap EngineeringBS '85
Sara Dansie Jones2017Co-Founder, Women Tech CouncilBS ‘98
Richard H. Nordlund2017Senior Director, Commerce Real Estate SolutionsBS ’64, MBA ‘66
Alan J. Walker, Outstanding Service Award2017Supervising Oil and Gas Engineer Department of ConservationBS ’74, MBA ’81, MS ‘15
Jason E. Job2016CEO and President, Job Industrial Services, Inc.BS ‘98
Rajesh Rawat2016Director, Combustion and Chemical Process Development, CD-adapcoPhD ‘97
Guinevere A. Cummings2015Aerospace SCM Director, FlextronicsBS ‘82
John A. Williams2015General Manager EPS, LLCMS ’84, PhD ‘90, MBA-UChicago
Carl B. Horton2013Vice President and Chief IP Counsel, General ElectricBS ‘88, J.D.- GWU
Gregory P. Starley2013Manager, Exploration Evaluation, Corporate Reservoir Engineering, Apache CorporationBS ’76-Sci, MS ‘80, PhD ‘82, MBA-Thunderbird
Jeffrey J. Siirola2010Technology Fellow, Eastman Chemical CompanyBS ’67, PhD ‘70
Michael W. Soulier2010Global Director of Human Resources, DuPontBS ‘64, Master of Commerce ‘72
Marvin M. Johnson2007Research Fellow, Phillips Petroleum CompanyBS ’50, PhD ‘58
Peter D. Meldrum2007CEO, Myriad GeneticsBS ’70, MBA ‘74